Tags

The heavenly scent of scones brushed with cream baking in the oven, the joy of watching the scones rising and browning…ahhhh..a satisfaction that soothes my stress away.

Giant supermarket was having a discount on blueberries. A 500 grams box was selling at S$8.80. I grabbed 2 boxes in anticipation of all the blueberry cakes, cookies, cupcakes, scones, pies etc etc I could bake. Okay, I exaggerate. 1000 grams will not last long. I packed the precious berries into 1 cup packs and froze them.

The recipe is from Martha Stewart via Browned Eye Baker. I took out 1 packet of the frozen berries and 1 egg early in the morning, left them on a plate, went to work and in the evening after work, proceeded to bake bake bake…

I had about 2 tablespoons of thickened cream left over from a previous bake, so instead of using an egg wash, I brushed the cream over the surface before sanding very generously with vanilla sugar.

The result is pure “Mmmmmmm”…..

