Tags

Another great way to use up over-ripe bananas is to make banana brownies!

I’ve always got a thing for brownies. They’re intensely chocolaty and buttery. They’re much more easier to make than cakes and you don’t have to worry about brownies falling flat due to over-mixing. Cleaning up after baking a batch is simple too, since brownie recipes usually don’t require you to use a mixer.

I doubled the portion in the recipe and reduced the sugar to 140 grams for each portion. I love to make thick brownies and this is one thick, moist decadent brownie!

On first bite, the chocolate and cacao nibs flavor bursts out all over your tastebuds. Then, amazingly, you taste some banana. I thought the chocolate would overwhelm the banana taste but somehow, it all works out.

This wonderful recipe is from Baking Bites. I glazed the brownies with some salted caramel icing.

For the chocolate, I used a combination of Valrhona 66% and Callebaut 70%. For the chocolate chips, I used a combination of Ghiradelli 60% cacao and Ghiradelli semi-sweet. Cocoa nibs are from Valrhona. Cocoa used is Ghiradelli unsweetened baking cocoa. A hodgepodge of chocolate! Basically these are the remains from packs that have been opened for previous bakes. :P

 

