Tags

IMG_1848

I was surfing around the net for a brownie recipe that used 3 eggs. The initial search led me to Brown Eyed Baker’s site but it was for a different recipe, a fudgy chewy triple chocolate recipe. Reading her blog entry, she mentioned her all-time favorite was the french chocolate brownies from Dorie Greenspan. I was intrigued enough to take a look and yeah….it was a 3 egg recipe as well!

My only thought about this recipe: 50-60 minutes for a pan of brownies? Wow. That is quite a long time. I converted the recipe to grams below.

IMG_1849

French Chocolate Brownies (spotted at Brown Eyed Baker, from Dorie Greenspan)

  • 64 grams all-purpose flour
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 170 grams chocolate (I used 70% cacao Valrhona Guanaja)
  • 170 grams unsalted butter, cut into cubes
  • 3 eggs, room temperature
  • 200 grams sugar (I used 120 grams)
  1. Preheat oven to 150 degrees C. Grease an 8 inch square pan. I used a pan with a removable bottom. If using normal pan, line with foil and grease, with overhangs at the sides.
  2. Over a double boiler, melt chocolate in a bowl. Remove from heat once melted and put in butter, stirring until all butter is melted.
  3. Sift flour and salt into a medium bowl.
  4. In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat eggs with sugar until thick and fluffy. Slowly drizzle in the melted chocolate and butter mixture. Scrape down the bowl.
  5. With the mixer on slow speed, add in the sifted flour and salt. Let it run for about 5 seconds, then stop the mixer. The flour and salt mixture will not be totally incorporated at this point.
  6. With a rubber spatula, fold in the unincorporated flour. Do not over-mix.
  7. Scrape batter into the prepared pan and bake for 50-60 minutes, or until top is crinkly and a knife inserted in the center comes out clean. I baked mine for around 40 minutes and they were done. So keep a lookout. Brownies are never good over-baked.
  8. Let the brownies cool completely before cutting. I chilled mine in the fridge for about half an hour when still in the pan and just slightly warm. I heard this makes for a cleaner cut and yeah, I do find it is easier to cut and the brownies look better than what I usually get.
french chocolate brownies

fudgy..chocolaty..amazing!

Marvelous, wonderful brownies! Hmm-mmm. The taste is oh so chocolaty-awesome. Excellent way to use up those 3 eggs. Heh-heh. :)

