blueberry muffin

The baking for this Saturday is blueberry muffin and vanilla shortbread.

As I was browsing through my recipe file, I saw this really attractive looking blueberry muffin. The recipe does not use butter but oil. I’ve always baked muffins with butter so I decided to give it a try. The recipe called for vanilla sugar to be sprinkled on top and I had just got mine from Beanilla together with a 1/2 lb of Madagascar vanilla beans. 

I decided to try this.

The recipe is really easy to follow, though the end batter is slightly different from what I anticipated. I’m quite new at this so I didn’t take a picture of the batter. It seemed not..er..wet enough. I decided to bake 1 as a test muffin, just in case. If it didn’t turn out well I thought I could at least try to salvage by adding some milk.

It was brilliant! So happy. The top was nicely brown and crusty with the vanilla sugar. The inside was still moist and thank God I didn’t overmix.

I modified the recipe for sugar slightly to get a less sweet muffin. When I tasted the test muffin, I felt it lacked a richness that butter gave. So to the rest of the batch, I greased the muffin cups with melted butter. It tasted and smelled better.

Ingredients 

  • 384 grams of cake flour
  • 195 grams of granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon fine grain sea salt
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 large egg
  • 225 grams full fat sour cream
  • 90 grams canola oil
  • 300 grams fresh blueberries
  • Vanilla sugar for sprinkling
  • 1 tablespoon butter, melted
  • 1 tablespoon flour, for tossing blueberries

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Farenheit.
  2. Sift all dry ingredients (1-5). Toss blueberries in a tablespoon of flour mixture.
  3. Whisk all wet ingredients (6-9) until combined.
  4. Add combined wet ingredients to sifted dry ingredients all at once and mix with a rubber spatula or wooden spoon until just barely combined. Add blueberries and mix lightly. Take care not to overmix.
  5. Grease muffin pan or cups with melted butter. Scoop batter into muffin pan or cups, almost to the brim. Top with vanilla sugar, to your preference and bake for 20 minutes or until tops are golden brown. Test with a bamboo skewer and muffins are done when skewer comes out clean. If using muffin pan, remove muffins from the pan as soon as cool enough. Stores well in a covered container in room temperature for 3-4 days, depending on humidity.

You can choose to freeze the muffins as well. After muffins are completely cooled, wrap each muffin in food wrap individually and store in a Ziploc freezer bag. When desire to eat, take out muffins from the freezer and leave to thaw for around 2 hours. Reheat with oven toaster for 5-8 minutes, depending on your preference.

Leave a Reply

