tai cheong egg tarts *modified*

Not a good picture but what the heck. Weather has been real gloomy and rainy here lately, hence the reduced lighting. I didn’t want to use the flash and I’m not buying a nifty DSLR just to take pictures of food. 😛

This is the modified recipe for the Tai Cheong egg tarts posted on CNNGo. As noted by The Little Teochew, the recipe is wrong. Hence I tried to make it workable using ratio analysis..looked up other egg tart recipes then noted the ratio of flour to sugar, egg to milk to water blah blah. I also reduced the quantity to reduce the number of tarts. This is my first time attempting egg tarts and I’m happy with the result. The egg could have been a bit softer, but that could be due to me over-baking. I was kind of worried the egg custard was not set but actually it already did.

For the second batch I added around 1 tablespoon of milk to the remaining egg mixture. It turned out pretty well, not as hard as the previous batch. But like my dad always says, all that work and you can just go downstairs and buy $10 worth of egg tarts and eat until you puke. Anyway, here is the modified recipe:

(makes around 15 tarts)

Pastry

  • 250 grams all-purpose flour
  • 85 grams confectioner’s sugar (icing sugar)
  • 2 teaspoons of evaporated milk
  • 61 grams of margarine (I used Planta brand)
  • 61 grams of butter ( I used unsalted mixed with a bit of salted..wasn’t trying to be fancy, just had some small bits of each left hence the mixture)

Egg Custard filling

  • 250 ml of water
  • 110 ml of evaporated milk
  • 82.5 grams of granulated sugar
  • 6 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Method

  1. Sift flour and icing sugar into a medium bowl.
  2. Add in all the other ingredients for pastry and knead to form dough.
  3. Wrap dough in food wrap and put in the fridge for 2 hours.
  4. For egg custard filling, boil water and dissolve sugar. Set aside to cool.
  5. Whisk egg, evaporated milk and vanilla extract to combine. Add cooled sugar water.
  6. Sieve the mixture and refrigerate for 30 minutes.
  7. Preheat oven to 200 degrees Celcius, around 15 minutes before the 2 hours refrigeration are up for the dough.
  8. After 2 hours, re-knead dough, roll out and divide into small dough balls. The size of the dough balls depends on your tart cases.
  9. Grease tart cases with melted butter. Press dough into tart cases. Try not to press the dough too thickly or too thinly into the tart cases.
  10. Stir egg custard well and pour mixture into the dough shells. Fill it to 3/4 full.
  11. Bake egg tarts for 5 minutes at 200 degrees Celcius, then lower temperature to 160 degrees Celcius and bake for another 15-20 minutes until egg custard is set.  

Notes

  1. I think the sweetness is still slightly too much for me, so the next time I make this I will reduce the sugar for the egg custard to 75 grams.
  2. It really is not easy to make a nice tart using aluminium foil tart cases. Really cannot be lazy and must invest in tart cases! I had only 4. Those 4 produced really nice looking tarts.
  3. For egg custard filling, I would add 2 tablespoons of milk for a softer egg filling next time.
  4. I would increase the pure vanilla extract to 2 teaspoons next time.
Leave a Reply

