butter loaf & kuih bangkit

Last Wednesday my wonderful colleague S sent me back home. I guess he saw the loads of stuff I was buying in preparation of the Chinese New Year baking and decided to do a kind deed. Having friends like these makes life so much sweeter. 😛

Due to S’s kindness, I arrived home much earlier than anticipated and finding time on my hands, I decided to bake a loaf of bread to share with my wonderful colleagues next morning. Butter loaf recipe that I found from here was simple and simple was what I needed, this being my second time baking bread. Here comes the result~~

Not bad for a second attempt but there is much room for improvement. The uneven coloring on the crust of the dough was due to the oven temperature and the height of the loaf. It was much higher in the middle and for my oven, the middle is where all the heat is. Sigh. Sooner or later, I know I’m going to have to invest in a Baby Belling oven.

Taste wise it was nice. Followed the recipe and added 3 tablespoons of sugar and it turned out quite sweet. With the 2 eggs added, the whole bread was more dense and heavier than a normal white loaf. I did knead till it was smooth and elastic but maybe I did something wrong. I brought the bread to the office and took a slice out of the plastic bag, wrapped it in tissue and when I ate it around 3 hours later, the bread was quite dry. Hmmm. The air-conditioning?

Anyhow, here’s a picture of my dear friend and colleague A’s morning breakfast shot.

Today, my Chinese New Year baking plan starts. My ‘schedule’ for today is Kuih Bangkit. This cookie is really not easy to make. It takes a lot of patience and skill to dry the tapioca flour. I followed the recipe here and used the microwave to dry the flour. However, I didn’t have enough time to allow it to cool completely. That resulted in a not-so-fluffy texture for this cookie. There really are no shortcuts to baking a good Kuih Bangkit.

Oh well, at least it is still palatable. The finished cookies are now sitting in the first red lid plastic container (traditional containers used for Chinese New Year goodies). Tomorrow, hopefully another one will join it.

By the way, I didn’t realise the flower cookie cutter I had was way too big to make this cookie. The only cookie cutter I had left was a heart. Hence, the cracked hearts. >.<

Come to think of it, cracked heart does kind of describe how I’ve been feeling since almost 10 years ago.

Time to sleep..tomorrow is another baking day!!

2 thoughts on “butter loaf & kuih bangkit

Leave a Reply

