steamed moist chocolate cake

I actually baked this cake last week. I was feeling a bit down and really needed a chocolate fix. This recipe comes highly recommended by a few baker bloggers and if I remember correctly, it originated from some brilliant baker from Kitchen Capers.

I found the recipe on one of my favorite baking blogs, Little Teochew. She really is a wonderful creative baker. I love to read her entries and look at her artistic, beautifully baked creations.

Steamed Moist Chocolate Cake

Cake

  • 180 grams unsalted butter
  • 180 grams castor sugar
  • 200 ml full cream evaporated milk
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten with a fork
  • 125 grams all purpose flour
  • 60 grams cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  1. Grease and line an 8 inch round pan. Prepare a steamer with enough water to boil for 60 minutes.
  2. Sift flour, cocoa powder, baking powder and baking soda into a medium bowl. Set aside.
  3. Place butter, sugar and evaporated milk in a pan over low heat. Stir until sugar is melted. Set aside to cool for 10 minutes.
  4. Add in eggs and vanilla extract and mix until combined.
  5. Gently whisk in sifted dry ingredients. Batter will be quite runny.
  6. Pour into prepared pan and cover top with aluminium foil to prevent water from dripping into the cake.
  7. Steam over medium high heat for 45 minutes, or until a skewer in the middle of the cake comes out clean.
  8. Let cool completely.

Fudge

  • 200 grams sweetened condensed milk (Lady General brand recommended)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp corn oil
  • 20 grams cocoa powder, sifted
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  1. Add everything into a saucepan and stir well to combine.
  2. Cook over low heat until mixture thickens. It is ready when the mixture coats the back of a spoon.
  3. Let cool slightly before spreading over the cake.
  4. Chill the cake well before serving.

The cake tasted so good! So indescribably good! One bite and you’re literally floating in chocolate cake heaven! Moist with the perfect texture and when paired up with the fudge, it becomes a real heavenly match.

The only tweaking I did to the recipe was to reduce the sugar, which I almost always do with all recipes. My family really do not like their cakes and cookies too sweet.

One thing to note..do not use Milkmaid brand condensed milk for the fudge. It really is not suitable for making fudge for this cake. Reading Little Teochew’s notes, she recommends using Lady General brand. I had a can of Milkmaid that I had yet to use so I went ahead with that. Sigh. As you can see, the fudge does “run” like heck. Even refrigeration did not save the ‘running’ down of the fudge. But the runny fudge did not affect the wonderful taste. If you’re a chocolate cake lover, you have to try this. My mum said it tasted something like the famous Lana cake.

The cake slice picture is taken the next day and the cake is just taken out from the refrigerator. You can see the runny fudge very clearly from the cake in the background.

I will try using Lady General brand of condensed milk next time.

Today is the Lunar New Year Eve. I spent the morning lazing around and just relaxing. It is not because I did not want to bake, but because my parents took over the kitchen to prepare for dinner. I did bake a Elvis Presley’s favorite pound cake for my mum and dad to bring to relatives tomorrow. This time I used a 10 inch bundt tin. Yes, I found an affordable one and realised it could fit in my oven! The results? It’s too dark to take pictures now. So I’ll take the picture in the morning. It’d be in the next post. *Wink*

Happy Chinese  New Year! 祝福大家龙年万事如意,身体健康,恭喜发财!新年快乐哦!

Update 13/04/2016: Recipe posted

4 thoughts on “steamed moist chocolate cake

Leave a Reply

