fluffy banana cake

I do not like to eat bananas.

When I was young, I had the misfortune to eat a banana that had some small seeds in it. Yes..seeds. Imagine eating soft sweet banana, then all of a sudden getting a ‘crunch’ when biting..that part I can never forget. I almost freaked out because I was imagining I had crunched on some insect hiding in the banana!

Though it was not an insect, that bad memory stayed with me. *Shudder* You can say I have “banana-phobia”. Hahaha.

But he likes to eat bananas. So since his birthday is coming up soon, I baked him a fluffy banana cake. This recipe originated from Baking Mum but I found it on Little Teochew’s blog.

I did some modification to the recipe. Mine is as follows:

Ingredients

  • 220 grams ripe banana, mashed (I used Dole brand from Philippines)
  • 180 grams unsalted butter, softened
  • 170 grams granulated sugar
  • 2 medium eggs (60 grams each), lightly beaten
  • 250 grams cake flour
  • 50 grams creme fraiche
  • 1 tbsp milk
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/8 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract 

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 160 degrees Celcius and grease a 8 inch round cake tin.
  2. Sift flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt into a medium bowl.
  3. Mix creme fraiche with milk.
  4. Beat butter with sugar until light and fluffy. This takes about 3 minutes on a KitchenAid mixer on speed 4.
  5. Lower speed to 2 and gradually add in egg. Beat until combined.
  6. Add in mashed banana, creme fraiche mixture and vanilla extract. Beat for about 2 minutes to combine on speed 4. It may splash a bit here, so you may need to cover the mixer bowl.
  7. Lower speed to 2. Add in half of the flour mixture and beat till combined.
  8. Add in remaining flour and beat for a minute at speed 2 till combined. Scrape the bowl with a rubber spatula, then increase speed to 4 and beat for 3 minutes.
  9. Pour batter into cake tin and bake for 60 minutes, or until cooked. Cake is done when wooden skewer inserted comes out clean or with a few crumbs.
  10. Let cool in pan on a rack for 10 minutes, remove cake from pan and let it cool completely on the rack before slicing.

The cake does brown pretty fast in my oven, so I tented an aluminium foil over the cake about 25 minutes after the cake goes in the oven. My oven is a bit old and not working that well. The temperature is not very regulated and my cake comes out looking pretty spotty on the top. Some parts are browner than the others. The taste is great though. Very soft and fluffy with a nice banana fragrance. Yes, even my “banana-phobia” did not stop me from enjoying a slice of the cake.

I’ve been wanting to bake with creme fraiche. I’ve baked with sour cream and buttermilk. So far I’d say creme fraiche and buttermilk seems better to me. The cake does not end up being so sticky. Creme fraiche is pretty expensive here, but I’d say it’s worth every single cent!

The cake tasted so good I baked another one since I had some very ripe bananas left. The second cake will be going with my mum to work tomorrow. 😛

Leave a Reply

