steamed milk cake

I had some whole milk that was expiring soon, so I whipped out my recipe file and voila~ steamed milk cake from Aunty Yochana!

The recipe is really simple and easy to make. One only has to make sure all the dry ingredients gets combined into the liquid. Mine did not. LOL. I didn’t whisk it long enough and the cocoa version had bits of white flour still in the cake. Zzzzz.

I changed the recipe slightly and since I had plenty of milk, I had a brilliant brainwave to quadruple the recipe. Half of this was used to make the original steamed milk cake, with the addition of pure vanilla extract. The other half became my experiment to make steamed cocoa orange milk cake.

I’m glad both worked out well. Because of the rice flour, this cake had a dense chewy texture and due to the double action baking powder, the cake rose very well.

steamed milk cake (recipe doubled)

  • 340 grams fresh milk
  • 200 grams cake flour
  • 40 grams rice flour
  • 150 grams granulated sugar
  • 2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 4 tsp double action baking powder

steamed cocoa orange milk cake (recipe doubled)

  • 340 grams fresh milk
  • 200 grams cake flour
  • 30 grams rice flour
  • 10 grams Dutch processed cocoa powder (I used Valrhona)
  • 150 grams granulated sugar
  • 2 tsp orange blossom water
  • 4 tsp double action baking powder

method

  1. Whisk sugar with milk in a medium bowl until all the sugar has melted.
  2. Add in remaining ingredients and stir well.
  3. Spoon into small cups lined with paper cups. (I used a 7 inch round tin for each flavor)
  4. Steam at high heat for 15 minutes. (Since I used the 7 inch tin, I increased steaming time to 40 minutes)
  5. Remove and cool on wire rack.

If you like a more intense chocolate flavor, I believe the cocoa powder can be increased and the rice flour decreased or you could try adding melted chocolate. It’s a wonderfully easy recipe to modify with any flavor you like, e.g., coffee, pandan, rosewater..anything that gets your fancy.

Have fun experimenting! 🙂

Note: My cake testers liked it! *victory dance*

Leave a Reply

