italian meringue buttercream

It’s just before Valentine’s Day and I’m in love..so in love!

I’m in love with the best frosting I’ve ever made so far – Italian Meringue Buttercream.

That light, not so sweet taste is exactly what I’m looking for in a frosting! I dislike heavy, buttery, super sweet frosting that is the norm nowadays. I’ve made my share of such frosting and kept hoping to find a great frosting that is not so sweet yet will not melt so easily in warm humid weather.

I got this wonderful recipe from Completely Delicious. She has this fabulous step by step guide with pictures. Follow the link and take a look!

Italian Meringue Buttercream

  • 4 egg whites, room temperature
  • 452 grams (1 pound) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 200 grams (1 cup) granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  1. Pour egg whites in a mixer bowl that has been wiped down with vinegar or lemon juice to get rid of grease. Do the same wipe-down for the whisk. Combine sugar and water in a saucepan and stir constantly while bringing to a boil. Once mixture boils, stop stirring and note the temperature with a candy thermometer.
  2. When temperature reaches around 210-215 degrees F, start the mixer on medium-high speed to get egg whites whipped to soft peaks. This really depends on how fast your mixer will be able to whip the egg whites to soft peaks. The more powerful the mixer is, the shorter the time allowance will be and the higher the temperature of the sugar mixture is before you switch on the mixer. You’ll have to adjust accordingly. I was dashing around like a mad woman in the kitchen because the cook top and the mixer are not arranged side by side, due to space constraints.
  3. When sugar mixture temperature is at 238 degrees F, remove mixture from fire, reduce mixer speed to medium and start drizzling the sugar mixture into the mixing bowl in the space between the whisk and the sides of the bowl. Try not to pour the sugar mixture along the sides of the mixing bowl while pouring. I was careless and got some on other parts of my KitchenAid. Man..hardened sugar syrup is really not easy to get rid of.
  4. When all the sugar mixture is poured in, switch the speed onto high and whisk for around 10-15 minutes, until the mixture reaches room temperature. By then the mixture should look glossy and fluffy.
  5. Reduce mixer speed to medium. Mix in butter a few tablespoons at a time.
  6. Mix in vanilla extract and any coloring or flavor you like.
  7. Beat on high until smooth.

The buttercream can be stored in an airtight covered container in the fridge for 3-5 days or in the freezer for around 2-3 months.

Tada~~~

My frosting came out a bit light yellow, but I think that is to do with me using SCS butter. It is slightly more yellow than other butter I’ve used so far. I was thinking to ‘save’ on butter in case I couldn’t make it, so I didn’t use my favorite Elle & Vire butter. 😉

Hmm..now to figure out what to do with all those egg yolks..

3 thoughts on “italian meringue buttercream

Leave a Reply

