banana walnut chocolate chip bread

I actually made this banana walnut chocolate chip bread on the same day with Flour’s banana bread which I posted last week. I had purposely bought a bunch of small cute bananas, each about 2 inches in length, to make these 2 banana breads.

Comparing the 2 recipes, this one is different in that it uses butter instead of oil, does not include cinnamon or creme fraiche and instead adds in 1/3 cup of dark chocolate chips.

So the million dollar question is: which one tastes better? Hmmm..I would say the recipe from Flour’s bakery tastes richer, probably because of the addition of creme fraiche. I noticed that baked goods with creme fraiche in it tends to taste rich and more flavorful.

Once again I cannot find the page I got this recipe from, so I reproduce it below:

Banana Walnut Chocolate Chip Bread

Ingredients

  • 3 ripe normal sized bananas
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour (256 grams)
  • 1 tsp salt (I used 1/2 tsp)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 cup soft butter (113 grams) I used unsalted
  • 1 cup sugar (200 grams) I used 180 grams
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla (I used 1/2 tsp)
  • 1 tbsp milk
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts (100 grams) I lightly toasted the walnuts before placing in a plastic bag and crushing it with a pestle until broken into coarse bits
  • 1/3 cup dark chocolate chips (I used Ghiradelli)

Method

  1. Peel and mash bananas.
  2. Whisk flour, salt, baking powder and baking soda together in a bowl. Set aside.
  3. Cream butter with sugar, using a spatula, until light and creamy. (I was lazy and used my KA mixer, medium speed for about 5 minutes)
  4. Add mashed bananas to butter mixture and whisk until combined. Texture may be grainy.
  5. Add vanilla and milk and whisk to combine.
  6. Add eggs, one at a time. Whisk to combine after each addition.
  7. Add walnuts, chocolate chips and flour mixture. Fold in a bottom-up method using a rubber spatula until just combined.
  8. Pour into a greased 9×4 loaf pan and bake at 325 degrees F for about 1 hour 10 minutes.
  9. Test bread with a skewer. Bread is done when skewer comes out clean.
  10. Let the bread cool in a tin on a rack for about 15 minutes, then remove from tin and let it cool completely before slicing.
Leave a Reply

