matcha castella cake

This is actually my fourth castella cake.

So what happened to the third one? Well…..I meant to make a matcha castella cake on my third attempt. However, I bought the wrong type of matcha powder. I went to Medi-Ya supermarket at Liang Court to find matcha powder and ended up buying matcha leaf powder.

So the third cake turned out slightly grey with specks of tea leaves in it. The tea leaves were considered finely ground but still, it is not matcha powder. Thus I may have made the world’s first matcha tea leaves castella cake. Hahahahaha. The cake was surprisingly palatable, just so long you ignore the bits of not so fine tea leaves.

I didn’t take a picture of that cake because it was an ugly color, I was in a rush, the lighting was more terrible than usual and frankly I was just so not in the mood.

So this past week I made this matcha castella cake, this time using the right matcha powder. I got the matcha powder from NTUC Fairprice Finest at Bukit Timah Plaza. The one I found is the same from Evan’s Kitchen Ramblings

The recipe is mostly the same as the one posted with part 2 except for the following adaptations:

  1. I mixed 1 tablespoon plus 1/2 teaspoons of matcha powder with the bread flour.
  2. I mixed 30ml of mirin and 95ml of milk with the 5 tablespoons of honey.
  3. I used 10 eggs of 60 grams each (with shell), bought the day before I made the cake and stored at room temperature.
  4. I reduced the sugar to 240grams.
  5. I beat the eggs and sugar mixture over a bain marie for a while until the mixture got slightly warm, then took it off and continued beating. When the mixture cooled down to barely warm, I placed it over the bain marie again. I repeated this cycle for about 5 times. It took around 1 hour 5 minutes of constant beating on the lowest setting with my hand-held mixer for the batter to reach the right consistency.

My views:

  • With the third attempt (the wrong matcha version), I beat the eggs and sugar mixture over a bain marie the entire time. It took half an hour longer for the batter to reach the desired consistency compared to the matcha version above. This could also be due to the age of the eggs used. The eggs were almost 2 weeks old and were kept in the fridge until the day I made them. I did wait until it reached room temperature before using them. That said, the pores are much smaller than the matcha castella cake above, though both were made on the lowest setting on my hand held mixer. So I guess the trade-off is, if one wants to have a castella cake with smaller pores and micro-crumbs look, you need the batter to slowly reach the desired consistency. Then you may have to try making with older eggs kept in the fridge and beaten over a bain marie all the way.
  • The sugar sprinkled over the baking paper allows easier removal of the baking paper from the cake. In one of my attempts, I forgot to sprinkle the sugar and the bottom part of the cake peeled off quite a bit with the baking paper.
  • Milk seems to make the cake more moist. For part 2 castella cake, I only used mirin and it turned out drier, even though I kept to the procedure of sticking the entire cake into the refrigerator whilst warm.
  • Brushing the top of the cake with honey water the moment it exits the oven browns the top, but also seems to wrinkle it. I shall attempt not to brush the top with honey water to give it a try.
Leave a Reply

