brown butter brown sugar banana muffins

Yesterday was a super duper crappy day at work. So many things to deal with, so much work to get through..I hate my work sometimes. Either I’m too bloody free and bored to bits or else I’m so bloody busy I can’t even go for a restroom break!

The good part about being so busy is time flies by and it seems in the blink of an eye, it’s time to go home.

Besides all the work, our company let someone go yesterday and it does affect my emotions quite a bit. I find it thoroughly demoralizing. The company is fine. It’s just the performance of that person was not up to par. Makes you wonder if it’d be your turn next.

So I charged home feeling thoroughly depressed and got it in my mind to bake something simple and easy to try to de-stress. My dad had bought a huge bunch of bananas and they were sitting in the fridge, waiting for me to bake. I had made quite a bit of banana bread lately. I decided to try banana muffins.

I got the original recipe from Sweet and Lovely Crafts. I did some changes and below is the recipe I used to make these beauties.

Brown Butter Brown Sugar Banana Muffins

  • 130 grams dark brown sugar (slightly less than 3/4 cup)
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour (192 grams)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup butter (113 grams)
  • 2 eggs (60 grams with shell)
  • 3 bananas, mashed (about 6 inches each in length)
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. (I used 325 degrees F as I was using a dark colored non-stick muffin pan.)
  2. Sift flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt into a medium bowl. Add sugar and combine well.
  3. In a small saucepan over low heat, melt butter. After about 2 minutes, the butter will be completely melted and start to bubble slightly. At this point there is no need to stir. Increase heat slightly above low and let butter bubble away, swirling the butter carefully once in a while. After around 3 minutes, the butter should be bubbling quite a lot and there will be bits of brown at the bottom of the pan. Using a spoon, stir the butter for a minute and take it off the heat, continuing to stir. Place butter in a shallow pan of cool water for it to cool down.
  4. In a medium bowl, mix the mashed bananas, the eggs and the cooled browned butter (including the brown bits at the bottom) and combine well.
  5. Make a well in the dry ingredients and pour in all the wet ingredients at once. Using a rubber spatula, combine until the dry ingredients are somewhat incorporated. It is okay if there are some dry bits left. Do not overmix. It took me around 20 folds.
  6. Bake in the oven for around 20 minutes. Start checking on the muffins around 15 minutes. Muffins are done when a bamboo skewer inserted comes out clean with a few crumbs.

This is quite an easy recipe to follow. The original recipe just called for the butter to be melted and not browned. I wanted to try out brown butter since many comment it adds a nutty flavor to baked goods.

The muffin is moist and soft, even though I did not reheat them before eating. The fragrance of the banana is fantastic! I did not taste much of a nutty flavor from the brown butter, but this could be due to the bananas masking it. The sweetness is just right for my taste and all in all, this is a winner. My colleagues liked them!

 

Leave a Reply

