vanilla cream cake with strawberries

This is another of my creations during this depressing weekend. Hmm. Seems like I turn to baking in times of sorrow and in times of stress.

I used the perfect vanilla cupcake recipe by Glorious Treats to make this cake base. The recipe was doubled and I baked it in two 7 inch round cake tins.

I sliced some Korean strawberries and whipped up about 400 ml of heavy whipping cream mixed with 3 tablespoons of sugar and 1 teaspoon of pure vanilla extract.

Man, it was hard to make a nice smooth surface. I know it is possible to add gelatine for easier spreading but I just wanted a fresh cream cake. My skills suck big-time. Haha. Considering the state of my emotions, I’d say yeah, it’s an absolute guarantee my decorating skills would suck.

 

This cake is really not that suitable to make a cream cake. The texture is not as soft as it should be. Taste wise it is acceptable. A sponge cake base is still recommended for cream cakes. I was lazy and took the easy way out. 😛

The cake held up very well for decoration and there was no need for a crumb coating.

 

 

Leave a Reply

