black magic cake

Happy birthday to me…

Yep, this cake is to celebrate my own birthday. I’ve spent the past 2 weeks pondering over which cake to bake myself. You wouldn’t believe the number of options that I considered.

In the end, chocolate cake won, but just barely. I was torn between black forest cake and chocolate cake. Hard choice to make…I’ll just have to bake black forest cake another day..:P

This black magic cake pops up over and over on the internet with different names. I got the recipe from Hershey’s website but I didn’t use Hershey’s cocoa for this recipe. I used Ghiradelli.. ;P

The blob of chocolate buttercream on the cake beneath the cherries is the chocolate malt frosting from Joy the Baker. The weather was so hot it literally melted. Sigh. The taste is out of this world though. Ovaltine does wonders!

Besides piping on top of the cake, I also used the buttercream as filling. Then as a finishing touch, I poured about half of the bittersweet chocolate ganache I made over it. The remaining ganache was allowed to cool to solidfy to spreading consistency. I then covered the sides of the cake with it.

Baking the cake is easy. Assembling it during warm weather is a nightmare! Besides having to deal with melting buttercream filling between the cake layers, the ganache took a long time to set fully, even though I stuck it in the fridge for a while.

Chocolate ganache

  • 1 cup (240ml) heavy cream 
  • 9 oz (255g) bittersweet chocolate, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon corn syrup
  1. In a medium saucepan, heat up cream over medium fire.
  2. Once cream starts bubbling at the edges, turn off the fire and pour in chocolate. Leave for 2 minutes, then start whisking to combine.
  3. Add in corn syrup and whisk until combined.

The cake tastes wonderful. I reduced the sugar in the cake to 219 grams and the sweetness is just right when combined with the buttercream and ganache. There is enough chocolate in this cake to satisfy me. The cake is also easy to cut and the texture is soft and moist. I love the glossy ganache look on the top of the cake. I read on Joy of Baking that adding corn syrup makes the ganache glossy so I gave it a shot. So happy with the result.

 It took me almost the entire afternoon puttering around the kitchen to make this. Assembling took up 70% of the total time. Haha. Practise makes perfect. I’ll do better next time.

My birthday wish is for joy and peace…

Thank you Lord, for the wonderful family and friends I have, for the quiet joy and satisfaction I felt today, even though I did not go out at all.

I remember all you give me and count myself very blessed. Mostly, thank you for bearing with me and for holding my hand all the time. I couldn’t have baked this cake without you. So thank you too, for my birthday cake. 🙂

Leave a Reply

