vanilla cupcakes with vanilla whipped buttercream

Daily Delicious has a vanilla cupcake recipe that yields 6 cupcakes. I really cannot find many recipes that yields only 6. The common number would be 24, followed by 12. I’ve seen 36 as well.

So it is a must-try for me, not just because the recipe yields 6, but also because she includes the grams measurement! Such a delight not to have to convert. Haha.

I didn’t make the creme au beurre this time. I shall make it next round, with another vanilla cupcake recipe that I want to try.

I made a vanilla whipped buttercream instead. I can’t find the blog where I got the recipe but the recipe was adapted from Joy the Baker.

Vanilla Whipped Buttercream Frosting

  • 1/2 cup sugar (I used 85 grams and still found it too sweet)
  • 1/2 cup milk, divided
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract (I used vanilla bean paste)
  • 2 tbsp all-purpose flour
  1. Whisk 2 tbsp of milk with flour in a small saucepan. Whisk until there are no lumps.
  2. Place mixture over a low flame and heat gently whilst whisking constantly. Slowly add in remaining milk. Let the mixture come to a gentle boil, then thicken slightly. Remove from flame and continue whisking. Mixture will resemble a paste.
  3. Place mixture in freezer for 2 minutes to bring down temperature. Meanwhile, using a stand mixer or hand mixer, cream butter for about a minute. Add in sugar gradually and beat until fluffy. This will take around 5 minutes.
  4. Add milk mixture, followed by vanilla and beat to combine.
  5. Increase speed to medium and beat for around 7 minutes until light and fluffy.

The frosting does hold its form but if the flour is not cooked long enough, there will be a floury taste in the frosting. If that should happen, just add a bit more vanilla extract and it should taste better. I still prefer the italian meringue buttercream.

Leave a Reply

