gleny’s best banana bread

Another banana bread? Yeah…I seem to have fallen in love with banana bread. 🙂

Odd isn’t it? I do not like to eat the fruit but I find I love the baked goods.

This recipe is from Gleny Morgan, through Bewitching Kitchen. 

For this recipe, I used a different kind of banana. The skin of the banana is red and it is known as pisang merah, or red banana. The flesh is not as mushy when the fruit is ripe.

An impressive looking bunch of bananas eh? My dad has been looking around for them since I asked about this type of banana a while ago. He said he had eaten them before but they are not easily found for sale at fruit stalls or supermarkets. So he was quite excited over this bunch of red bananas when he found them. They are not very expensive. This large bunch costs around S$3.50.

The banana bread is really different from the other types I’ve made so far. The bread is much softer and at the bottom of the cake, there is some blackish ribbon of bananas. I think this could be due to the amount of bananas I added. I used 5 bananas of around 6 inches in length each.

The taste is wonderful. This is the first banana bread I’ve baked using butter that turned out soft and moist, due to the addition of buttermilk. A different way of mixing the banana with buttermilk and baking soda could have made a difference too.

Perfect with a cup of tea for an afternoon snack! 🙂

Leave a Reply

