chocolate fudge brownies

Finally, I managed to succesfully make a good batch of brownies.

Can’t believe this is my third attempt. First was the blooming brilliant brownies, then I attempted brown butter brownies and this is the third brownie recipe.

Don’t get me wrong. The above stated recipes work. It is just me. For the first two recipes, the brownies were slightly overdone. Grrrr…the brownies turned out hard and quite crisp and I was almost convinced I had lost the knack to making good brownies. You see, about 5 to 6 years back, I used to bake brownies often and they worked.

But I guess baking brownies is kind of like riding a bicycle. After a long time of not practicing, it takes a fall or two to get it right again. 🙂

This recipe is from Joy the Baker’s cookbook, through Sweet Life’s blog. Joy really is a totally brilliant baker who makes such wonderful creations. My baking life would definitely be much duller without great bakers like her.

I reduced both sugars to 75 grams and used Valrhona Equatoriale 55% cocoa feves for this recipe. Due to my previous bad experiences, I reduced the baking time to around 22 minutes and was watching the brownies like a hawk from the 15th minute. Tested with a skewer at the 20th minute and it came out slightly wet, so left it in there for another 2 minutes, then switched off the oven and opened the oven door for 5 minutes before taking the brownies out to cool.

The brownies are gloriously fudgy and yet amazingly not dense and heavy. I took 2 squares with a big scoop of vanilla ice-cream…Divine! Lifts up my mood!

2 thoughts on “chocolate fudge brownies

Leave a Reply

