apple mango milk pound cake

It all started out with an avocado that let me down. I had 2 lovely African Hass avocados that were quite dark in color. Naturally I thought they were ripe and ready for baking. Only one was. The other was totally hard inside.

My loaf pans were greased and ready. My baking equipment all cleaned up and prepped. What was I to do? One avocado was not enough.

Then I spotted the apple mangoes my mum just bought. These are mangoes that were fragrant and just ripe. Perfect!

I originally wanted to try out the Avocado Milk Pound Cake by Wendy from Table for 2 or more. Since I did not have enough avocado, I had to improvise and adapted her recipe.

Apple Mango Milk Cake (Largely adapted from Avocado Milk Pound Cake, first spotted at Simple Delights, from Table for 2 or more)

  • 200 grams unsalted butter, softened and cool
  • 40 grams sugar
  • 150 grams apple mango (I weighed out the flesh then used a fork to mash till puree)
  • 1-1.5 tbsp fresh milk
  • 120 grams condensed milk
  • 200 grams cake flour
  • 100 grams all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 2 eggs (size I used: 60 grams with shell)
  1. Preheat oven to 170 C. Grease and line two 8 x 3 inches loaf pans.
  2. Puree the apple mango flesh well. Set aside.
  3. Sieve cake flour, all-purpose flour, baking powder and baking soda into a medium bowl. Set aside.
  4. Beat butter with sugar until fluffy. Add in egg, one at a time, making sure the first one is combined well before adding the next.
  5. Add in condensed milk and beat until combined.
  6. Add in half of the flour mixture, beat until combined then add the remaining flour mixture.
  7. Finally add in the mango puree. If the cake batter appears thick at this point, slowly add in fresh milk, half a tablespoon at a time. This really depends on how juicy the mango is.
  8. Pour batter into pans and bake for 35 minutes or until a bamboo skewer inserted in the center of the cake comes out clean.
  9. Let the cakes cool in the pan for 10 minutes before removing from the pan. Cool completely before cutting.

The fragrance of this cake is amazing! Though only 150 grams of apple mango flesh was used, the fragrance is really pronounced. The cake is not very sweet and has a milky dense texture from the usage of condensed milk. This is the first time I am using condensed milk to bake in a cake. I like it. 🙂

For those with a sweeter tooth, you may want to use 150 grams condensed milk and 50 grams sugar, as per original recipe.

Leave a Reply

