almond coconut milk brownies

These brownies jumped queue from all the other posts lined up. Yes, they are that good! So I’m sharing these.

I wouldn’t have made these except I had 100ml of thick freshly squeezed coconut milk that I didn’t want to keep in the fridge overnight. As I thought hard about the stuff one can make using coconut milk besides cakes and cookies, I wondered if it would work with brownies.

I surfed the net and found this amazing recipe by Gluten Free Chickadee. Hers is a paleo brownie and is gluten free, due to her dietary needs. I liked that she used eggs for these brownies. Most of the others I found did not include eggs. I wanted the brownies to be moist and fudgy and not cakey. I once made some brownies using my own adaptations that were so cakey and crumbly I might as well call it a cake. 😛

Almond Coconut Milk Brownies (adapted from Gluten Free Chickadee)

  • 2 cups almond meal
  • 1/2 cup stoneground whole wheat plain flour
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened dark cocoa powder
  • 300 grams (1 1/2 cups) granulated sugar (See note below)
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted and cooled slightly
  • 100ml thick coconut milk
  • 140ml fresh whole milk
  • 2 eggs (I used eggs that weighed 60 grams each with shell)
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 200 grams dark chocolate chunks (I used 85% cocoa chocolate chips)
  1. Preheat oven to 170 C (350 F). Grease a 9 x 9 inch tin.
  2. Sift all the dry ingredients together in a large bowl.
  3. Mix all the wet ingredients together in a medium bowl.
  4. Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients and pour in the wet ingredients. Combine well with a whisk for about 5 minutes. Batter will turn smooth and glossy.
  5. Mix in chocolate chunks.
  6. Bake for 35-40 minutes or until a skewer inserted in the center comes out with some brownie crumbs but not wet.
  7. Let the brownies cool completely in the pan before cutting.

These are really good brownies. Moist, rich, chocolaty and fudgy. Not a hint of cakey-ness! So if you like cakey brownies, sorry, this isn’t it.  The cocoa and chocolate stands out in this recipe and though coconut milk is added, it seems to get lost in the sea of chocolate. I believe it does help in increasing the richness and moisture of the brownies, though not detectable upfront in terms of fragrance or taste. The coconut milk is a subtle worker here.

I used Chicago Metallic’s brownie pan which is 8 x 8 inches in size and filled it to the brim. Luckily the brownies did not flow out! However, the tops cracked slightly and I made very tall huge slices of brownies. Haha. No matter. I like my brownies tall and huge. If you prefer shorter brownies, I think a 10 x 10 inch tin would be good. A 9 x 9 inch tin probably makes medium brownies.

Gluten Free Chickadee says using almond meal makes the brownies moist. She knows her brownies! So don’t substitute the almond meal. Try this!

Note: The sugar in the recipe above is to my taste. For those who like their brownies to be sweeter, increase the sugar to 450 grams (2 1/4 cups).

Leave a Reply

