banana chiffon cake

This is a very moist banana chiffon cake adapted from Christine’s Recipes. I increased the portion for my 23 cm tube pan.

The smell of the bananas didn’t seem so pronunced when the cake was just out of the oven, even though I made sure to use extremely ripe bananas for this recipe. What I like about this recipe is it uses quite a lot of bananas…and I had quite a bit of bananas to ‘get-rid-of’.

The top was really cracked and gaping wide open. When I sliced the cake, some slices thus had those gaps. Definitely not attractive, but of course edible. Makes me wonder how much preservatives and cake enhancers there are in those chiffon cakes you can buy dirt cheap (like S$1.99) at Giant supermarket. After slaving in the kitchen for an hour and a half, including cleaning and wiping, the result was this delicious but not saleable cake. If I were to bake for selling, I’d be in trouble. 😛

The cake is super moist due to the bananas and I think I took it out a bit too early. I baked this for 55 minutes and the top turned browned within 20 minutes of the baking, so I got a bit worried it’d be overdone if I left it in there longer. Sigh. It is still edible, though you feel the cake is slightly wettish. This cake needs to be baked for 60-65 minutes, me thinks.

The adapted recipe for a 23 cm (9 inch) tube pan is:

Egg yolk mixture

  • 92 grams cake flour
  • 4 egg yolks
  • 16 grams caster sugar
  • 40 grams vegetable oil
  • 52 grams milk
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 2.5 ripe bananas, about 276 grams

Egg white mixture

  • 5 egg whites
  • 46 grams caster sugar
  • 1/4 tsp cream of tartar
  1. Preheat oven to 165C (330F) and prepare a 23 cm tube pan that is not non-stick. Do not grease or line the pan. (I used 170C)
  2. Process bananas into paste. (I blended the bananas with the milk)
  3. In a large bowl, beat egg yolks with sugar until pale yellow in color. Add oil, banana paste and combine well.
  4. Sift in cake flour and fold until combined.
  5. Using a hand or stand mixer, beat egg whites until foamy, add in cream of tartar. Continue to beat for a minute.
  6. Add in caster sugar gradually over 3 additions. Beat on high speed until stiff peaks form. Once stiff peaks form, reduce speed to low for about 30 seconds.
  7. Pour batter quickly into the prepared pan. Bake for 60-65 minutes. Start checking on the cake around 55 minutes.
  8. Remove cake from oven and invert on a cooling rack to cool completely before unmoulding.
Leave a Reply

