white chocolate cranberry roll & cheese bun (65C tangzhong method)

This is the first 65C tangzhong bread that I’ve made that is soft! I guess all the previous attempts were flops. 😛

I made 2 types of bread from this dough. I wanted to try making cheese buns but this attempt is not that successful as the cheese part was quite hard when the bun cooled down. I used cheddar cheese.

The bread dough is fluffly though. I am very happy and delighted, since previously, I felt the other variation of the water roux method worked better for me. That method just required mixing boiling water with flour but needed to be done at least 12 hours before making bread. I liked the texture of the bread from that method but disliked that I had to plan in advance. Sometimes a bread-making mood just strikes without warning. 🙂

You can see the fluffy bread dough at the sides of the cheese buns. But the cheese……..Sigh…more research needed!

 

 

 

 

The recipe is largely adapted from Yin Homemade.

65C Tangzhong Bread (65C 汤中面包)

Tangzhong

  • 50 grams bread flour
  • 250 ml water
  1. Mix bread flour and water in a saucepan. Whisk until there are no more lumps. Cook mixture over a low flame, whisking constantly, until it reaches 65 degrees C or if lazy like me, just cook until it thickens and ripples are seen in the mixture as you whisk.

Main dough

  • 365 grams bread flour
  • 12 grams milk powder (I used 24 grams)
  • 7 grams salt (I didn’t measure exactly, but I think I used about 5 grams only)
  • 8 grams yeast
  • 30 grams caster sugar (I used 50 grams)
  • 150 ml whole milk
  • 30 grams melted butter (I used unsalted softened butter)
  1. Mix all ingredients and tangzhong, except butter, into the mixing bowl of a stand mixer. Take care not to put the salt on or near the yeast. Mix on low speed until dough comes together.
  2. Increase speed slightly (KitchenAid speed 2) and knead for 5 minutes. Add butter.
  3. Increase speed again (KitchenAid speed 4) and knead for 12 minutes or until dough is elastic and passes the window-pane test.
  4. Place dough in a lightly oiled bowl and let it proof at a warm place for 60 minutes.
  5. Punch dough down lightly to remove gas. Knead dough for 2 minutes on a lightly floured board.
  6. Divide dough according to what type of bread you’re making. I had around 700 grams of dough. For the cheese buns, I divided the dough into 10 pieces of 40 grams each, rolled it into a ball and let it rest for 10 minutes before shaping. For the white chocolate cranberry rolls, I rolled the remaining dough (about 300 grams) into a ball, let it rest for 10 minutes before shaping into a rectangle around 30cm by 15 cm, scattered about 100 grams of chopped white chocolate and 50 grams of dried cranberries before rolling it into a swiss roll (from the 15 cm side as I wanted thicker rolls) and cutting into 6 pieces.
  7. Proof shaped buns/rolls for 60 minutes.
  8. Brush the buns/rolls with egg wash (I used egg yolk only as I had 1 extra one sitting about) just before baking for 15-17 minutes at 170C pre-heated oven.
Leave a Reply

