piglet biscuit & lotus paste mooncake

Happy Mid-Autumn! 中秋节快乐!

I have a friend who likes to eat piglet biscuit but since he is a vegetarian, it is not that easy to find nice ones that he can eat. I surfed the net for recipes and discovered to my surprise that the recipe for the piglet biscuit and the mooncake skin is quite simple. I had imagined complex steps and exotic ingredients. 🙂 I went to a shop which was well-known for selling mooncake ingredients and purchased all I needed.

Kwong Cheong Thye started off as a soya sauce maker and evolved to a shop selling a myriad of stuff, besides their trademark sauces. I purchased the mooncake syrup, Hong Kong flour, lotus paste imported from Hong Kong and the mooncake containers. A while back I had already bought a mooncake mould from Phoon Huat but unfortunately, the only one left was the one with carved wordings for 4 yolk lotus. So ignore the words on the mooncake, mine is just a plain lotus mooncake with some toasted pumpkin seeds.

Note the thick skin at the sides. I didn’t do that good a job shaping the mooncakes. I used 50 grams of dough against 70 grams of filling and it was a bit too little for the mould.

The recipe for the mooncake skin is from Anncoo Journal. When making the mooncakes, I had the devil of a time knocking the pressed mooncakes from the mould. The best fun was from making the piglet biscuit. My mind was filled with an image of a cute piggy and though the piglet biscuits cracked horribly, everyone said they looked super cute. I did spray water before baking for 10 minutes then let them cool for another 15 minutes before brushing egg wash and baking for another 15 minutes. The mooncakes were kept in an airtight container for 2 days before cutting. This resting time is done to let the mooncake skin soften.

Hope everyone have an enjoyable Mid-Autumn Festival!

Leave a Reply

