gula melaka chiffon cake

My good friend P bought some gula melaka (palm sugar) from Malacca for me. I’ve long eyed this cake since I saw it on the blog of another good friend. She is from Malacca but stays in Australia now.

I didn’t use the same recipe as she did because I wanted to find one that did not use any leavening agent. I got the recipe from Hundred Eighty Degrees who adapted it from Passionate About Baking, who in turn got the recipe from the cookbook “Chiffon Cake is Done” by Kevin Chai.

My cake cracked at the top, as usual, though not very much. The cake is firm with a distinct taste of gula melaka. I used extra virgin olive oil for this cake and the smell and taste of the olive oil is not pronounced. It is slightly sweeter than what I usually prefer.

Leave a Reply

