meyer lemon pound cake

The first cake from my heritage bundt pan. This pan was part of a set of pans from a dear friend. When the cake came out of the pan, my mum was commenting on how beautiful it is. I smiled but secretly hoped the taste of the cake would match up to the look. 🙂

Quite some time back, I ordered 3 precious bottles of puree from The Perfect Puree of Napa Valley via Amazon. I was intrigued by the variety of desserts that could be made from these flavors: Meyer Lemon, Key Lime and Blood Orange. These fruits are not easily available here so I ordered the puree. What I didn’t note was these puree had to be kept frozen. Duh. Of course by the time they reached me, they were thawed and the blood orange puree had leaked.

I stuck the lot in the freezer and procrastinated from making anything from them. Almost 6 months later, here is one of the flavors.

The recipe is found from The Perfect Puree of Napa Valley. I reduced the sugar to 270 grams and added 1 tsp of lemon zest and baked this in a bundt pan instead of a loaf pan. The rest of the ingredients and steps were followed as per the recipe.

What was different in this recipe is the requirement to separate the eggs, then fold in the egg white. When I read that, I was like “Huh? That’s new to me.” Anyhow, reading the instructions on 6 where it says to remove the mixing bowl from the mixer, I gather the folding of the egg white should be done by the mixer and not by me. Hehe. So I just poured the egg white gradually into the mixing bowl as the mixer was still going at a low speed, then poured in the sugar.

When the cake cooled down completely, I found the top a bit hard. I’ve read pound cakes taste much better the next day, so I let it sit, covered with cling wrap. The next day, to my surprise, the cake was soft! The crumbs were moist and no dense ribbons were in sight! Perfect. The taste? Tangy sweetness with the fragrance of lemon. A totally addictive lemony pound cake! 🙂

Leave a Reply

