chocolate buttermilk muffins

I was meeting a dear friend for her birthday dinner celebration. We’ve been friends almost 22 years! She’s a mom of 3 beautiful children and has a pretty hectic and busy schedule.

That day I was to meet her, I woke up at 4am. It was not on purpose. I couldn’t get back to sleep, so I baked muffins. Muffins are the easiest and quickest to put together. I wanted to give them as a gift to her.

I’m not too sure where I found the original recipe, but I adapted it to make chocolate buttermilk muffins. I actually followed the recipe but found the batter too thick. I was concerned it would end up being too chocolaty and hard so I improvised and thank God it worked.

Chocolate Buttermilk Muffins (makes 6)

  • 150 grams dark chocolate
  • 80 grams caster sugar
  • 80 grams all-purpose flour
  • 2 eggs, room temperature
  • 70 grams unsalted butter
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3 tbsp buttermilk
  1. Preheat oven to 170 degrees C (350 F).
  2. Melt chocolate and butter in a large bowl over a bain marie or in a microwave. Set aside for 5 minutes to cool
  3. In a medium bowl, beat eggs lightly, then add in sugar and mix until sugar is dissolved.
  4. Gradually add egg mixture into the chocolate mixture.
  5. Sieve flour, baking powder and salt into batter and fold in until combined.
  6. Add buttermilk and fold in until combined.
  7. Spoon batter into muffin tin and bake for 20 minutes.

The taste is oh so chocolaty-yummy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

