red velvet cupcakes with swiss meringue cream cheese buttercream

This will be the third time I’ve made red velvet cupcakes. The recipe is sighted at Joy The Baker and is from the Hummingbird Bakery.

I found the batter a bit too little to distribute amongst 12 cupcake liners. Strange, since I did measure my ingredients. I think this would make 9-10 cupcakes nicely. This accounts for the short cupcakes you see in my pictures. To compensate, I piped in heck of a lot (for my standards, at least) of swiss meringue cream cheese buttercream.

 

Swiss meringue cream cheese buttercream

  • 1 cup swiss meringue buttercream
  • 100-150 grams cream cheese, room temperature
  1. Beat buttercream until fluffy, add in cream cheese and beat on high speed until smooth.

 

 

This cupcake tastes more chocolaty than the other recipes I’ve tried so far. Though not much butter is used, the cake remains soft and moist even on the next day. There are numerous “tunnels” in the cake. That is likely to be the result of chemical reaction between the baking soda, vinegar and buttermilk.

 

Leave a Reply

