durian chiffon cupcakes

Please excuse the extreme exploding durian cream from the cupcakes..you see, I had way too much durian cream left over and I had to use it. My family are durian lovers so we don’t mind the overload of durian cream. 🙂

The cupcake recipe is adapted from Ms. Sonia of Nasi Lemak Lover. I increased the portion to make 12 cupcakes.

Hokkaido Chiffon Cupcakes (makes 12)

(A)

  • 4 egg yolks
  • 26 grams caster sugar
  • 43 grams corn oil
  • 80 grams milk (I used Hokkaido 3.6 milk)
  • 93 grams cake flour (I used Nissin Violet Flour)

(B)

  • 4 egg whites
  • 33 grams caster sugar
  • a pinch of corn starch

Filling

  • 375 grams durian pulp
  • 250 ml whipping cream
  • 2.5 tbsp caster sugar
  1. Preheat oven to 170 degrees C (160 degrees C for fan forced oven).
  2. In a large bowl, beat egg yolks and sugar from (A) until light yellow in color. Gradually add in milk, then oil and mix to combine.
  3. Sieve in cake flour and whisk in until combined. Set aside.
  4. In the bowl of a stand mixer, add in egg whites and whisk at high speed for a minute. Add in caster sugar in 2 additions, then whisk till soft peaks. Add in the pinch of corn starch and whisk till stiff peaks.
  5. Add 1/3 of the egg white mixture to the egg yolk mixture and using a hand whisk, mix until combined.
  6. Add remaining egg white in 2 additions and fold in gently with a rubber spatula, until combined.
  7. Scoop the batter into the cupcake liner. I filled it to 3/4 but I think it can go up to 80% full.
  8. Bake the cupcakes for 20 minutes until golden brown.
  9. Remove from oven and let it cool completely. It will shrink.
  10. For the filling, whisk the whipping cream and sugar until stiff peaks, then fold in the durian pulp gently. Place in a piping bag and pipe into the completely cool cupcakes. Chill for at least 2 hours. Dust top with icing sugar and serve.

I had a tough time piping the durian cream into the cupcakes. I used a knife to cut into the cupcakes, then stuck the piping tip into the cake and piped with all my might. The trouble was, the first time, I used a too small tip. The durian pulp couldn’t come out from the tip and the bag burst. Duh. So I switched to a slightly bigger tip. Same problem. The piping bag didn’t burst but the durian cream refused to budge. Sigh….

Third time’s the charm. By now I’m on my third disposable large piping bag. This time I used extra-large plain piping tip that I usually used to pipe designs on cupcakes. Ha! Made it, finally!

 

 

The cake is divinely soft and spongy! It didn’t shrink (or sink) as much as I thought it might, since I did overbeat the egg whites. 😛 Paired with the rich durian cream, it was perfect! Okay, the look can still improve but the taste…yum! Too bad I can’t bring this to the office. Why? Because my Japanese boss hates the smell of durians…..

Leave a Reply

