my cny bakes part 1

I always spend my Lunar New Year baking up a storm. This is the longest uninterrupted holiday period here. I do not go out to visit, hence I have plenty of time on my hands. Besides watching television programs, I bake. I bake for my parents to bring along to relatives’ house when they go visiting, I bake for my sis for her party and near to the end of the long holiday break, I bake to bring to office for my colleagues. I get to experiment with different recipes and this is a delight to me!

This year, I made:

Pandan Chiffon Cake

IMG_1827

This recipe is adapted from the pandan chiffon cake 4 from ieatishootipost (kiamnianwong).

Egg yolk mixture

  • 6 egg yolks
  • 75 grams caster sugar
  • 200 grams cake flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 170ml pandan leaves blended coconut milk (see below)
  • 115ml corn oil

Egg white mixture

  • 9 egg whites
  • 100 grams caster sugar
  • 1/4 tsp cream of tartar

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 170 degrees C.
  2. Wash and cut around 20~25 pieces of pandan leaves into thin strips (width-wise). Blend with around 200ml of fresh or packet coconut milk until it turns to mush. Strain mixture and measure out 170ml.
  3. In a large bowl, whisk egg yolks with caster sugar until mixture turns pale and thick. Slowly drizzle in oil, followed by pandan coconut milk, whisking all the while. Sift in cake flour and salt and whisk till combined.
  4. In a standmixer, whisk egg whites until foamy, add in cream of tartar. After 1 minute, gradually add in caster sugar until stiff peaks form. Take care not to overbeat.
  5. Take 1/3 of the egg white mixture and mix with the egg yolk mixture. Fold in, in 2 portions, the remaining egg white to the egg yolk mixture.
  6. Pour the mixture into a 25cm chiffon tin and bake for 55 minutes.
  7. Remove cake from oven and cool, upside-down on a cooling rack. Cool completely before slicing.

Nice texture, soft and fragrant with pandan. I love this cake. No baking powder is used and I would say no baking powder is needed. I do find the 25 cm tin a bit too big. 23 cm is enough, since baking powder is not used.

IMG_1830

Whipped cream cake

whipped cream cake1

An interesting recipe from master baker Rose Levy Beranbaum. This is the 2nd cake I’m attempting from her recipes. It turned out a bit…odd. I baked the cake for around 50 minutes at 180-190 C. The outside is browned nicely. But the inside…take a look.

IMG_1829

It looks uncooked, doesn’t it? It didn’t rise. I wonder why. If I had left the cake inside any longer, it would have burnt. I suspect is the eggs and the beating process. I guess I either didn’t beat the whipping cream and egg mixture long enough or the eggs were too much. Tastewise it is a little bit eggy-tasting but is still acceptable. If I have the chance, I’ll re-make this again.

White Velvet Butter Cake

IMG_1833

The third recipe I tried from Rose Levy Beranbaum. This has got to be the most beautiful butter cake (I mean the inside..the top is not that gorgeous due to oven’s uneven heating. Hehe.) I’ve ever made so far. I love the off-white delicate texture of the cake! It is a marvellous way to use up egg whites and this cake is easy to make. Ms. Rose has a video showing the making of this cake. Take a look.

This cake also did not crack in the oven. The crack you see in the picture above is because I poked a bamboo skewer into the cake to check whether it was done, creating a hole. Then when I removed the cake from the tin, I was not very careful and it rested a bit too long on the top resulting in a crack.

IMG_1836

I love this cake! I reduced the sugar to 240 grams and the taste is fantabulous! The recipe was spotted at Aunty Yochana. Give this wonderful cake a try when you have extra egg whites.

Leave a Reply

