my cny bakes part 2

Durian Chiffon Cake

IMG_1839

This cake is spotted at Sweet Samsations. Just wonderful since I have frozen durian pulp I needed to use. The method is somewhat different from the usual chiffon cake as it does not mix in the flour with the egg yolk mixture before folding in the egg whites. Instead, flour and egg white is mixed in alternately to the egg yolk mixture. I figured it’d be better to end with egg whites, in case if I overfold the previous 2 times, at least the last batch of egg whites should save something. Haha.

IMG_1841

The taste is very delicious! I used Hokkaido milk for this cake and accidentally added 20 grams more milk and 20 grams less oil. It worked out, in the end. The cake is moist and soft with a subtle fragrance of durian. I think I used D24 grade durians. If using very bitter durian pulp, sugar amount might need to be increased.

IMG_1842

Pineapple tarts

IMG_1846

Again? Yep, this is the 3rd batch of pineapple tarts I’ve baked for this Lunar New Year. Blame it on the excessive pineapple jam. Lesson learnt: Do not make too much pineapple jam. I think I don’t want to see another jar of pineapple jam for a year. It’d take me that long to recover. No easy business, sitting there and rolling rolling rolling rolling…..

Anyhow, I’m glad to report this is the last of the pineapple jam. My sis has another jar but I told her please don’t pass it back. Hahaha. This recipe was spotted at Kitchen Tigress, then at another of my blog inspirations, 我の垃圾嗜好. Both their descriptions won me over. 

I don’t think I did it right. I was baking near to midnight and thought to use a fan forced mode to make it quicker. I left it in there a bit too long and it turned out…erm…slightly crunchy. Sigh. Another lesson learnt: Don’t bake when half-asleep. Actually I started around 7pm. I didn’t think it would take this long but the wrapping was not as easy as the other 2 batches of pineapple tarts. It was somewhat crumbly though oily and you had to press the dough down, stick in the pineapple jam ball, close it up and roll. The closing part took a while for me since the pastry was crumbly and I was trying to make sure I covered all the jam.

Ah well, there is always next year. 😛

Update: The tarts became gloriously melt-in-the-mouth the next day. So leave it for a day before devouring. Love the buttery taste, though it is definitely not kind to my waist!

2 thoughts on “my cny bakes part 2

Leave a Reply

