raspberry cheese cake

raspberry cheese cake

Yesterday was the 15th day of the first month of the Lunar Calendar. It marks the last day of the Chinese New Year celebrations and it is also the Chinese Valentine’s day (元宵节). So what was I doing? Nothing much. Besides the usual lazing around and making a trip to my hairdresser, I managed to try out this raspberry cheese cake recipe I’ve been eyeing for a while.

This marvelous recipe is spotted from Ms. Sonia of Nasi Lemak Lover. Her cake is gorgeous! The swirls are beautifully designed and the photography fantastic. She doubled the recipe to make the cake. I followed her link and found another brilliant food blogger, Ms. Jane of Jane’s Corner.

I have not made a small sized cheese cake so far, so I followed the recipe from Ms. Jane to make a 6 inch cheesecake. I had fun designing the top. Instead of frozen raspberries, I invested in a packet of fresh ones and blitzed them in the blender with 2 tablespoons of sugar, then cooked it down to a thick sauce (consistency of ketchup). In Singapore, a packet of fresh raspberries is an investment. They cost S$9.95 for a 170 grams tiny packet. I’m pretty sure the packaging is included in the 170 grams.  So yes, it is an investment. I can only pray I make this work. If not, it’s  $ down the drain.

The sauce was spooned into a small disposable piping bag. I prayed, took a deep breath and plunged into the design part. I was aiming for 3 smooth circles with a heart in the center. Ah well. Squiggly lines will have to do. Now I know it is not easy to pipe smooth non-squiggly raspberry lines. 😛

raspberry cheesecake slice

The cake is light for a cheesecake, smooth and rich-tasting because of the cream. The raspberry sauce adds an interesting tangy taste. Without the raspberry sauce, lemon juice would need to be added.

5 thoughts on “raspberry cheese cake

Leave a Reply

