ultimate brownies

ultimate brownies

This is another “3 eggs” find. I’m left with 3 eggs to use and immediately I thought of brownies. I love brownies. The only difficult part about making brownies is to decide how much sugar to use. The normal brownie recipe has far far too much sugar and if I follow the sugar in the original recipe, the end result is a too sweet brownie that nobody around me likes to eat.

After a few trials, I now know the best sugar: dry ingredients ratio to use when baking brownies, that ends up not too sweet but not bitter or bland either. I usually go with 100% sugar : 60% dry ingredients. This depends on the type of chocolate used. When very bitter chocolate is used, I up the sugar used as well. As always, this is adjusted to my own and my family members’ tastes. So if you like your brownies real sweet, you’ll have to use the original sugar indicated. I always think if the brownies turn out not sweet enough, I can always smother it in icing. But when it is too sweet, there is nothing I can do to save them from the bin.

Ultimate brownies (adapted from BBC Good Foods)

  • 185 grams unsalted butter (I used 130 grams Wijsman butter & 55 grams french unsalted butter)
  • 185 grams dark chocolate (I used 100 grams 70% cocoa & 85 grams 85% cocoa)
  • 85 grams plain flour
  • 40 grams cocoa powder (I used Cacao Barry dark cocoa)
  • a pinch of salt
  • 3 eggs (weighing 60 grams with shell)
  • 190 grams caster sugar
  • 50 grams white chocolate, chopped into small chunks
  • 50 grams milk chocolate, chopped into small chunks
  1. Prepare a 8×8 inch pan by lining the bottom with grease-proof paper. Preheat oven to 180 C.
  2. Melt butter and chocolate in a large bowl over a pot of simmering water. Take care not to let the bowl touch the water. Once melted, remove from heat and allow to cool.
  3. Sift flour, cocoa powder and salt into a medium bowl. Set aside.
  4. With an electric mixer, whisk the eggs with the caster sugar until pale yellow and double in volume. This should take around 5-8 minutes, depending on the power of your mixer.
  5. Drizzle melted chocolate and butter mixture into the egg mixture, folding in gently with a rubber spatula until just combined.
  6. Add in sifted flour mixture and fold in until just combined.
  7. Finally add in chopped white and milk chocolate and fold in lightly.
  8. Scrape batter into prepared pan and smooth the surface with a rubber spatula.
  9. Bake for 25 minutes until top is crinkly and center is set. Do not over-bake. Mine were done at 20 minutes.
  10. Let it cool completely. If you wish your brownies to have a clean cut look, chill the brownies for an hour at least before cutting.

ultimate brownies1

These brownies are really awesome! I love the fudgy cakey texture. The ones at the outer side of the pan are more cakey whilst the ones in the middle are real fudgy. The white and milk chocolate chunks makes for an interesting bite, but I didn’t distribute these evenly enough and some brownie squares have no white/milk chocolate chunks. They still taste delicious though.

2 thoughts on “ultimate brownies

Leave a Reply

