avocado chocolate ogura cake

avocado chocolate ogura cake

Avocados were on sale at the local supermarket and I had bought 2 to eat. On tasting one, it was so good I decided to use the remaining one to bake.

A while back I made a Pandan Ogura Cake. I remembered it was light and airy, though slightly wet in texture. Lately, seeing some interesting ogura cake flavors made by other bloggers, I thought to give this a shot again with a twist in flavor. Avocado chocolate flavor. Ever since my good friend R introduced me to avocado shake with chocolate syrup in Indonesia about 15 years back during a vacation, chocolate and avocado will always be the best combination in my mind. I fell in love with that drink and drank that at every meal.

I remembered R explaining to me: “They achieve this unique lemak (milky rich) and wonderful taste using only locally grown avocados and, you’ll be surprised – very cheap chocolate syrup.” Hmm. Interesting thought. Good tasting stuff does not always mean one needs to use expensive ingredients after all.

Avocado Chocolate Ogura Cake (adapted from Bernice’s Kitchen)

(A)

  • 100 grams egg yolks
  • 1 whole egg
  • 25 grams caster sugar
  • 50 grams corn oil
  • 115~118 grams avocado, mashed and mixed with 1/2 tsp lemon juice

(B)

  • 80 grams cake flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt

(C)

  • 200 grams egg whites
  • 40 grams caster sugar
  • 1/4 tsp cream of tartar

Chocolate chips for sprinkling

  1. Grease and line the bottom of a 7 inch square pan. Prepare a roasting pan and enough boiling water to cover 1/2 of the depth of the roasting pan for steam baking. Preheat oven to 150 degrees C.
  2. Place egg yolks, egg and sugar in a large bowl and whisk until pale and thick.
  3. Slowly drizzle oil into the mixture, beating as you drizzle it in.
  4. Add mashed avocado and mix well.
  5. Sift B. Add into mixture A and fold in until combined. At this point you may sieve the mixture to remove any lumps from the avocado, if you wish to. I skipped this since I was okay with avocado bits peaking out from the cake.
  6. Whisk egg whites until frothy, add in cream of tartar and whisk for another minute.
  7. Gradually add in sugar and whisk until soft peaks stage. Do not over-beat or it will be hard to fold into the egg yolk mixture.
  8. Take 1/3 of the meringue and fold into the egg yolk mixture. Fold in the remaining meringue in 2 additions.
  9. Scrape into prepared pan and sprinkle chocolate chips on the surface.
  10. Pour boiling water into the roasting pan, place cake pan carefully on top and put into the oven.
  11. Bake for 60~70 minutes, or until a skewer comes out clean when inserted into the center. Cover the top of the cake with aluminum foil if it browns too quickly.
  12. Remove cake from oven, invert and cool completely before cutting.
avocado chocolate ogura cake1
see the avocado bits peaking out?

I didn’t invert the cake. I chose to drop it from the height of a foot onto the kitchen floor. Yes, my last attempt at this “dropping-the-cake-from-a-foot-height” got me hooked. Nerve-wracking, but oh so satisfying. Haha. Yeah, I know, there maybe something wrong with me since I find satisfaction in dropping cakes. 😛

The cake immediately shrank, but that was it. It didn’t shrink any further on cooling. This cake will definitely shrink since a large proportion of the cake is egg white and the flour used is not a lot.

I scraped out 118 grams of avocado. I admit I was pretty worried the cake would fail, since I had no idea would the avocado cause it to be too dense or oily. It turned out fine but the wet texture was present in this cake as well. Could this be from the water condensation due to the steam baking method?

Most chose to bake using steam baking but I have yet to hear of anyone complaining of the wet texture. I baked my cake for around 90 minutes, since I chose to use a lower temperature of 130 degrees C. I did not use a removable bottom pan so I did not wrap the base in aluminum foil.

avocado chocolate ogura cake slice

The avocado taste is very subtle, though the fragrance is definitely detectable. Combined with the generous amount of chocolate chips I sprinkled liberally over the surface, the chocolate overpowers the small amount of avocado in the cake. I think the avocado can be increased and the oil decreased further. Overall, this is not a bad result for an experiment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

