whipped cream cake

whipped cream cake

This is the same cake I attempted during Chinese New Year 2013. After that disaster, I tried another time with the same depressing result. I was determined to succeed and determined to figure out what happened. So this is my third attempt.

Reading through the posts on Rose Levy Beranbaum’s website, one of the posts was by a lady who attempted the cake but failed, with the same result as mine. The reply given was the cake was under-baked, resulting in the dense look. Under-cooked? I remembered keeping to the appointed time.

whipped cream cake1

This time, I made sure the oven was preheated at least half an hour before the cake went in. In addition, I changed the type of cake flour from the Nissin Violet flour I had used in the previous two attempts to Prima Cake flour. I used up the precious 47% fat Meiji Hokkaido whipping cream for this recipe.

During baking, the cake rose as usual, though not till the top of the bundt pan. It rose around 3/4 of the height only. When I saw that, my heart kind of sank. I thought the cake failed again. Haha.

I held my breath, crossed my fingers and waited for the cake to cool down before I could cut to check.

whipped cream cake slice

Yippee! It worked! *dances madly around*

So what caused the dense uncooked cake in the previous two attempts? Only God knows. I suspect it was a combination of the cooking time and the flour used.

For my own reference, I list the ingredients and the steps:

Whipped Cream Cake (adapted from Rose Levy Beranbaum)

  • 225 grams cake flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoons salt
  • 180 grams castor sugar
  • 348 grams heavy whipping cream, cold
  • 150 grams eggs
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  1. Grease and flour a 10 cups capacity bundt pan. Preheat oven to 190 C (175 C if pan used is dark colored)
  2. In a large bowl, sift cake flour, baking powder and salt. Set aside.
  3. In a bowl, whisk eggs lightly. Add in vanilla extract and whisk till combined.
  4. In the bowl of a stand mixer, whip cream until stiff peaks.
  5. With the mixer on low, gradually add in egg mixture. Switch to medium speed for a minute to combine fully.
  6. Gradually add in sugar and run the mixture for 30 seconds to incorporate the sugar. Stop the mixer.
  7. Fold in the flour carefully in 2 additions, until just combined. Do not over-mix.
  8. Scrape batter into prepared pan, run through with a blunt knife and smooth the top with a spatula.
  9. Bake for 35 minutes.
  10. Cool cake on a rack in the pan for 10 minutes before turning cake out onto the rack and cool completely.

This cake is delicious! The 47% fats whipping cream really makes a difference in taste. Creamy and wonderful. But I can only eat a small tiny corner. Not even a mouthful. Sobs. I need to lose weight. 😦

Leave a Reply

