“i want to marry you” cookies

i want to marry you cookies

Imagine giving away some cookies you have made, and getting a marriage proposal in return. Every single girl’s dream eh? You can give these away to that guy you’ve been secretly infatuated with. 🙂

The name of this cookie is such an attraction. Coupled with the list of ingredients, containing some items which I had to use, it was a no-brainer that I had to make them. Mine turned out much darker than the ones I saw on other blogs. It could be I used a mixture of dark muscovado sugar and dark brown molasses sugar. Another happy point of this recipe is the one bowl, or in this case, one saucepan mixing part. Everyone who loves baking doesn’t always love cleaning up. Some days you just want a simple recipe that uses one wooden spoon and one bowl.

“I want to marry you” cookies (spotted on cookingchanneltv and yummy.healthy.easy)

  • 227 grams unsalted butter
  • 250 grams dark brown sugar (I used 60 grams muscovado sugar and 140 grams dark brown molasses sugar)
  • 100 grams granulated sugar (I used 50 grams)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 256 grams all-purpose flour (I used top flour)
  • 1 cup uncooked oats
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • salt (I used 2 big pinches)
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon (I used 1/2 tsp)
  • 1 cup white chocolate chips (I used milk chocolate chips)
  • 1 cup chocolate chips (I used dark chocolate chips)
  • a handful of cranberries (my own adaptation due to leftovers from previous bakes, as usual)
  1. In a saucepan, melt butter.
  2. Add in both sugars and mix until well combined. Let it chill it in the fridge for 10 minutes.
  3. Add in egg and egg yolk and mix well.
  4. Add in vanilla extract and mix well.
  5. Sift in flour, baking soda, salt and cinnamon and mix well.
  6. Add in oats, chocolate chips and cranberries (if using) and fold until well combined.
  7. Divide mixture into 24 cookies and place on parchment paper lined baking sheets.
  8. Chill for 30 minutes.
  9. Preheat oven to 165 C. Bake for 12-14 minutes until brown.

I know some will say it is better to stick to the sugar indicated in the recipe. That is everyone’s personal style. Changing some components of a recipe doesn’t mean I am smarter or better in baking. It is just to tweak it to suit my taste. You may like your cookies real sweet. My family, friends and myself don’t fancy too sweet stuff and so I have to tweak.

If you skip the chilling in the fridge in step 2, you would end up with a cookie dough that is slightly wet and can only be handled with a scoop or spoon. I didn’t chill the mixture at step 2. So I had to chill the cookie dough in the pan in the fridge before I could divide the cookies up. If you ignore the instructions to chill, I believe you’d end up with a large, somewhat flat cookie because the mixture will have spread.

Incidentally, the second blog, Ms. Jen Nikolaus of yummy.healthy. easy., is the cousin of the creator of this great recipe.

"i want to marry you" cookies1

The taste is as the creator, Ms. Melissa Stadler, says. It is fantastic and addictive. Moist, chewy and chocolaty with a subtle hint of vanilla and cinnamon. Is it enough to garner a marriage proposal? Well, no harm trying. If you give these away, it’d gain you a friend at least. Need I say more? Go grab a saucepan and make your own.

4 thoughts on ““i want to marry you” cookies

Leave a Reply

