kue lapis prune

kue lapis prune

Now that I’ve succeeded in making macarons using the french method, I find myself dreaming of flavors…pandan and coconut? chocolate and cherry chocolate ganache? vanilla and bailey’s chocolate ganache? Many many flavors floating around my head!

I bought new cookbooks dedicated to macarons. Yes, I am going nuts over macarons.

To play at making macarons, besides patience and the ability to curse silently, one needs plenty of aged egg whites. I found myself short of aged egg whites this week. I tried using fresh ones and my macs cracked, though I beat the egg whites over a bain marie, dried the macarons using the oven and made double sure they were dry enough when I placed them in the oven. Of course, bad macaronnage could have resulted in cracking, but after  2 successful batches and 4 cracked batches (burp goes the dustbin), I cracked (ran out of curses) and made kue lapis prune instead.

I had 12 eggs and 3 egg yolks in the fridge. I needed the egg whites out of the eggs to age for 5 days at least. Hmm. That means 15 egg yolks. Google to the rescue! 15 egg yolk kue lapis led me to this wonderful post by one of my most favorite blogs, Ms. Rima of Bisousatoi. Have you been to her blog? Go right now. It is amazing! I love reading her posts and looking at her fantastic pictures. Especially love it when she goes travelling and blogs about the places and posts the most beautiful scenery pictures.

This kue lapis is simpler than the others I have attempted, as this makes only 10 layers. The taste is out of this world. Soft, creamy with the wonderful aroma of spices. If you need egg whites, give this a try. Heh-heh.

Kek Lapis Prune (adapted from Bisousatoi)

(A)

  • 250 grams butter (I used 125 grams Wijsman & 125 grams Elle Et Vire)
  • 80 grams condensed milk
  • 1 tsp mixed spice (I used Lebkuchen spice from Sun Lik Trading)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla powder (I used 1 tsp pure vanilla extract)
  • 80 grams golden syrup

(B)

  • 15 egg yolks
  • 3 egg whites
  • 120 grams castor sugar
  • 80 grams superfine/HK flour (I used Nissin Violet flour)
  • 1 tbsp ovalette (I omitted)
  • 20 ml cold water

(C)

  • a few drops of yellow coloring (I omitted)
  • 150 grams pitted prunes, flattened
  • melted butter
  1. Grease and line the bottom of a 8x8x3 inches aluminum pan. Preheat oven to 180C on top/bottom heating.
  2. Place all the ingredients in A in the bowl of a standing mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat at high speed (KA 8) for 7 minutes, until thick and creamy. Be careful as the batter will splatter a bit. Scrape the batter out to another bowl, unless you are fortunate enough to have another mixer bowl.
  3. Place all the ingredients in B in the bowl of a standing mixer fitted with the whisk attachment, beat a medium speed (KA 6) for 10 minutes, until thick and fluffy. I beat at speed 6 for 5 minutes and speed 8 for 5 minutes.
  4. Reduce speed to low and gradually add in batter from step 2. Mix until combined. Do not over-mix.
  5. Add in yellow coloring, if using.
  6. Weigh batter and divide into 10 portions. Mine was 95 grams. But I still ended up with 8 layers of 95 grams and 1 layer of 121 grams. The remaining 70 grams of batter went God knows where. Mysterious.
  7. Go to the toilet even if you don’t feel you need to yet. You won’t be able to go for the next 1.5 hour at least.
  8. Place pan in the hot oven for 3 minutes. Remove and spread weighed batter evenly in the pan with a spoon and some tilting. Rap pan on the counter a few times to get rid of air bubbles.
  9. Place pan in oven and immediately switch to top grill mode. Grill for 5 minutes or until top is golden brown. If air bubbles form in the cake batter when baking, pop it quickly with a skewer. Do not wander off when the cake is baking. Not even for a minute. A minute may make a difference between making cake or scraping off burnt “rubber”.
  10. Press the cake lightly with the metal presser used for baking kue lapis. If you do not have one, go get one. If not, a square glass with a 15×15 cm flat base will do the trick. Grease the metal piece or glass base well with melted butter before pressing on the cake layers.
  11. For the next layer, spread on batter evenly, then arrange some prunes on the batter. Grill until golden brown.
  12. Repeat steps 8 – 10 until batter is finished.
  13. Bake final layer using top and bottom heat for 10 minutes. Tent top with aluminum foil if it starts browning too much.
  14. Remove cake from oven, brush top lightly with melted butter and let cool completely before slicing. Store in an air-tight container and try to eat it only on the next day. It will taste better.

kue lapis prune1

Take care to bake the final layer using top and bottom heat for 10 minutes at least. My oven temperature was only 160 C at that point and the cake was a little under-baked (arhhhhhh). 😦 I would suggest to bake it for 15-18 minutes at 170-180 C, since the layers are thicker.

2 thoughts on “kue lapis prune

Leave a Reply

