bamboo charcoal & lemon macarons

IMG_1551

” The weather is great today!” I said.

My dad gives me an disbelieving look. “Great??? It is blistering hot today!” he exclaimed.

My reply: “It is a good day to make macarons because it is so warm! I get feet!”

Dad gives me an exasperated look.

Ha! This is the way things go when you’re hooked on making macarons. Never mind the horribly hot weather. I can be sweating buckets and still smile. My macarons do not need to be oven-dried! I leave them out for an hour and they are ready. Woo-hoo!

Today’s recipe is once again adapted from Jill Colonna, spotted on Kitchen Guardian and faithfully followed since. Oh what a happy day!

Bamboo charcoal macaron

  • 50 grams aged egg white, room temperature
  • 25 grams castor sugar
  • 55 grams almond meal
  • 80 grams icing sugar
  • 5 grams bamboo charcoal powder

Lemon macaron

  • 50 grams aged egg white, room temperature
  • 25 grams castor sugar
  • 60 grams almond meal
  • 80 grams icing sugar
  • 3-4 drops of yellow food gel paste

Follow the method to make macarons on my previous post.

For the filling, I filled the bamboo charcoal macaron with chocolate ganache, as per my previous post. I sprinkled some Maldon sea salt flakes on each macaron, on top of the ganache, before assembling. The lemon macaron was filled with swiss meringue buttercream that had been mixed with 1 tablespoon of lemon juice and 1 tsp of lemon zest.

IMG_1555

I still have problems with the macarons turning slightly brownish in color. Though I placed a tray above to prevent browning, by the 10th minute of cooking, slight browning already occurred. Baking temperature has already been reduced to 130 C. I will experiment on other methods.

macaron

2 thoughts on “bamboo charcoal & lemon macarons

Leave a Reply

