kek lapis legit

photo 1

Another kek lapis! This one is real special to me. It was made together with my beloved sister, at her home, using her Baby Belling oven.

I’ve heard and read of people saying the best oven to make kek lapis is the Baby Belling oven. Now I understand why. The heating is so even and the baking is real fast, compared to using my own oven. Each layer takes just under a minute to complete.

The cake took us 2 1/2 hours from start to finish and yielded 20 layers. I think this is an achievement for us, especially since my sister is a good cook but rarely bakes. She only bakes during Chinese New Year and usually only simple recipes. I’m sure if she put her mind to it, she can make even more fantastic bakes than me. She is the artist in the family, whereas I almost always fail in art. Ha! However, she does not have much interest in baking, and prefers to cook delicious meals instead.

It was an afternoon of enjoyment, the first time we’ve collaborated to make a cake. It was my request for my birthday. I seem to be asking those close to me to bake with me lately. 😛 Perhaps because I’ve kind of slowed down a lot in baking. Now I’m more into online gaming. The bakes before this one was done months ago. A major reason is I’ve exhausted all sources to give away my bakes. It may amaze you but nobody around here is that much into eating my bakes, however delicious. They usually just take a slice. But a 7 or 8 inch cake can be many slices and I’ve had to practically beg people to take them home. I’m tired of begging.

Back to this cake. The recipe is adapted from Do What I Like. My sister kept asking for a softer kek lapis, so we added 1 more egg white to the recipe. It is slightly sweet for my taste, so those who prefer less sweet, do adjust the sugar.

Kek lapis legit (adapted from Do What I Like)

A

  • 250 grams butter, cool and softened (I used 200 grams Wijsman butter and 50 grams Elle et Vire unsalted butter)
  • 60 grams castor sugar

B

  • 10 egg yolks
  • 60 grams sugar
  • 1 tbsp rum/brandy
  • 2 tbsp condensed milk

C

  • 66 grams cake flour
  • 1 tsp lapis spices
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder

D

  • 5 egg whites
  • 30 grams sugar
  1. Preheat oven to 170 C. Grease and line the bottom of a 7 inch square pan.
  2. Cream A until pale yellow and fluffy. Set aside.
  3. Cream B until pale yellow and thick.
  4. Fold B into A until combined.
  5. Sift C into butter egg yolk mixture and fold in until combined.
  6. Beat D until stiff peaks.
  7. Fold D into butter egg yolk mixture in 3 parts.
  8. If you want to, weigh the batter and divide into the number of layers you want. We just winged it, as can be seen from the uneven layers in the cake picture, because my sister did not have a precise digital scale. We used a small ladle and eyeballed the amount of batter. As my sister says so nicely: “This is for personal consumption. No need so nice la.” Do not use too much batter, since the inside will not be cooked. Traditionally, it is 2 tbsp of batter per layer.
  9. Heat the pan in the oven for 2 minutes.
  10. Take out the pan and pour the first layer in. Switch the oven to grill mode.
  11. Grill for 1 minute, or until golden brown. Do note the timing depends on your oven. Each oven is different. Never ever step away from the cake, since burning takes only seconds. Trust your nose. When the cake is browned, the smell is amazing.
  12. When ready, remove the pan and use a slightly greased presser to gently press down on the cake. Baking with Baby Belling, there is not need to press at all. Amazing! If bumps should appear on the cake, use a toothpick to poke it before pressing.
  13. Repeat until batter is used up.
  14. If you want to, bake the cake using top and bottom heat in the middle rack for 5 minutes at 170 C. This step is to ensure the cake is fully baked.
  15. Turn out the cake on a cooling rack and slice when cooled. For best visual effect, slice away the sides first for the layered pattern to emerge, before slicing into individual pieces.
photo 2
Photo taken by my sister using her Sony handphone

Now to see if I can get another person to bake with me. Hee hee.

Leave a Reply

