totally chocolate chocolate chip cookies

Totally Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies

Our company server died on 31 Jul. It was right after I finished the monthly accounts close, but just before I clicked the button to submit monthly reports to company headquarters. Darn it!

Turns out the battery powering the hard disks was damaged. It was swollen and according to the supplier, just about to explode. We were lucky it didn’t.

It was a very stressful weekend, though I did not need to come to the office. But there was a possibility the precious data we had entered could not be saved and we would have to redo everything for the past week. On normal days, that was fine. At the last week of the accounts close, the amount of data we had already input was quite a lot. Sigh. So the problem was weighing down on my mind the entire weekend and I was so restless and feeling very helpless. I had to do something. My hands needed to work! I chose to bake, rather then to clean house. 😛

I thought to de-stress everyone, these cookies would be just the thing. Actually it was just an excuse. I think I needed the de-stressing more than anyone else.

Totally chocolate chocolate chip cookies (spotted from Nigella Lawson, by Elinor Klivans)

  • 125 grams dark chocolate (I used 85% cocoa solids)
  • 150 grams all-purpose flour
  • 30 grams cocoa, sifted
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 125 grams unsalted butter, softened
  • 75 grams brown sugar
  • 50 grams castor sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 egg, cold
  • 350 grams dark chocolate chips (I used 62% cocoa solids chocolate discs)
  • Maldon sea salt flakes (optional)
  1. Preheat oven to 170 C. Prepare 2 baking sheets lined with parchment paper.
  2. Mix flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt in a bowl. Whisk to combine.
  3. Beat butter with both sugars until light and fluffy.
  4. Add in vanilla extract and egg. Beat until combined.
  5. Reduce mixer speed to low and add in dry ingredients gradually.
  6. Fold in chocolate chips.
  7. With a ice-cream scoop, scoop 6 balls of dough onto each baking sheet. Do not press down on the cookie. Or if like me, you do not have an ice-cream scoop, use a 1/4 cup to scoop out and use hands to lightly roll into a ball.
  8. Sprinkle some sea salt flakes over the cookies. It is optional but really makes a lot of difference. Chocolate and salt flakes go very well together.
  9. Bake for 18 minutes. Cool completely before storing.

Very chocolaty cookie that is absolutely divine. There is an insane amount of chocolate chips in the dough. Take care to fold in and divide the chips equally or some cookies will end up consisting almost entirely of chocolate chips.

I love that it doesn’t spread out much but puffs up and is quite thick. Thick fat cookies are my favorite. It is not cake-y but somewhat crumbly in texture. We ended up scattering a lot of crumbs at the office pantry table.

I didn’t reduce the sugar at all since I’m using dark chocolate. If using semi-sweet, you can consider reducing slightly. I like that the sugar content is not as high as some recipes I’ve come across.

palm sized!
palm sized!

So is the server problem solved? As of today, not yet. The earliest we can expect the server to be up and running would be Wednesday. By then the workload would be…ah, can’t think about it. Eat chocolate chip cookie and de-stress. Eat. Eat.

Totally Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies2

Leave a Reply

