gyeran bbang

Gyeran Bbang

Gyeran bbang, or egg bread, is a street food in Korea. I’ve read it is particularly popular in winter. No idea if you can find this during other seasons.

But I’ve got to say this. This is the absolute “best-est” muffin I’ve ever tasted. I love love love the sweet soft muffin paired with a salty egg. You have to try this to know how good this is.

Gyeran bbang (adapted from Aeri’s Kitchen)

  • 2 large eggs
  • 75 grams castor sugar
  • 113 grams unsalted butter, melted
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 60 ml milk
  • 96 grams all-purpose flour (I suggest 110 grams)
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 6 small eggs (I used only 4 normal sized eggs since I made 4 in jumbo muffin pan)
  • salt for sprinkling on egg
  • melted butter for brushing muffin pan
  1. Preheat oven to 170 C. Brush some melted butter in muffin pan cavities.
  2. Whisk large eggs with sugar until foamy and sugar is dissolved.
  3. Add in butter, salt and milk. Whisk until combined.
  4. Sieve in flour and baking powder. Whisk until combined.
  5. You can scrape batter into a piping bag or ziploc bag and pipe out batter. But since my batter was more watery, I just spooned 2 tbsp of batter into each muffin cavity. Smooth out batter with a spoon, if your batter is not watery.
  6. Carefully crack an egg into each muffin cavity. Sprinkle a generous pinch of salt evenly over the egg.
  7. Spoon or pipe 3-4 tbsp of batter over the egg. I find the egg does not like being covered. The egg white kept floating out.
  8. Bake for 25 minutes.
  9. Serve warm. It tastes best when warm. I brought these muffins out to eat as breakfast just before a movie. I wrapped them in aluminum foil and kept them in a foil bag that can supposedly keep foodstuff warm or cold. It stayed warm for about 2 hours.

The recipe makes 4 jumbo muffins or 6 normal muffins. Use small eggs if making normal sized muffins.

Ms. Aeri used cup measurements, so I converted them to grams. However, my end batter was more watery than hers in the video. Hence I think about 110 grams of flour would be better.

Oddly dense looking inside
Oddly dense looking inside

When I cut the egg bread in 2, I was quite disheartened. As you can see from the picture, it looked like the muffin portion did not rise well. I thought it would be disgustingly chewy, rubbery and dense from the appearance. It looked entirely different from what I saw at Ms. Aeri’s blog.

To my surprise and utter delight, the cake is soft, sweet and paired with the salty egg, it was heavenly! The best breakfast ever! Please make these.

There are other variations, where the egg is on top and partially or fully cooked.

I will be making them again.

Leave a Reply

