victoria sandwich cake

Victoria Sponge Cake

A very short Victoria Sandwich Cake. I used a 7 inch round pan. I should have used a 6 inch one.

This cake has always held my interest, because it is a classic tea-time (or anytime) cake that is simple to make with ingredients so simple you cannot forget it. Same amount of eggs, flour, butter and sugar. I did not make this cake much earlier because I figured the cake would be too sweet for my family’s taste.

But I wanted to try it, at least once. So I made a small one. My colleagues like it. Do I like it? It’s a bit sweet and the cake is denser than a normal sponge cake. Texture wise is slightly dry and the cake has a very nice egg-y fragrance. Quite an acceptable cake, actually.

Would I make this again? Maybe.

Victoria Sponge Cake

  • 111.5 grams butter
  • 111.5 grams sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 111.5 grams egg, lightly beaten
  • 111.5 grams all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • a large pinch of salt
  • 2 tbsp milk
  • Raspberry jam for filling
  • Icing sugar
  1. Grease and line a 6 inch round pan. Preheat oven to 170 C.
  2. Sift flour, baking powder and salt into a bowl. Set aside.
  3. In the bowl of a mixer, place butter, sugar and vanilla extract. Beat until butter turns pale white and is light and fluffy.
  4. Add in egg gradually, making sure each addition is fully incorporated before adding more.
  5. Scrape down sides of the bowl and beat for a minute to combine.
  6. Sift in dry ingredients over 4-5 additions. Fold to combine well after each addition.
  7. Add in milk. Fold to combine well.
  8. Scrape batter into prepared pan and level the batter.
  9. Bake for 30 minutes.
  10. Cool completely before slicing cake in half horizontally and filling with jam. Dust the top of the cake liberally with icing sugar.

Why the odd measurements? Well, I weighed 2 eggs (without shells) and they were 111.5 grams. Hence everything else follows. Not too sure are the eggs meant to be weighed with or without shells.

Most recipes use self-raising flour. Since I do not stock self-raising flour and do not want to buy another pack of flour, I added 1 tsp baking powder. You can increase to 1.5 tsp of baking powder if you prefer fluffier cake.

Victoria Sponge Cake1

Not exactly half but I was having too much fun slicing the cake with these cute “cake slicer helper” I bought from taobao.

1-Pair-Hot-Useful-5-Layers-DIY-font-b-Cake-b-font-Bread-Cutter-font-b

 

It works well for small cakes, unless you got a very long bread knife. Ha!

Leave a Reply

