sourdough pancakes

sourdough pancakesWonderful, fluffy, flavorful sourdough pancakes.

Ah, the wonderful smell of sourdough. How I love my sourdough culture. I even named it. It’s my cute Chu. Chu is vinegar in mandarin. Hehe.

I woke up at 4 plus in the morning and couldn’t get back to sleep. So at 5 am, I decided to make pancakes to bring to work.

Sourdough pancakes (adapted from Chef in Disguise)

  • 490 grams unfed 100% hydration sourdough starter
  • 6 tbsp castor sugar (increase to 8 tbsp if you want to eat plain)
  • 4 tbsp milk powder
  • 4 tsp vegetable oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 6 tbsp all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda
  1. In a large bowl, add everything except baking soda.
  2. Whisk until smooth.
  3. Heat up griddle/saucepan on low flame.
  4. Add in baking soda to the pancake batter. Whisk until smooth. Set aside for 5 minutes.
  5. Place a small knob of butter in the pan and let it melt.
  6. Start pancake making! I use 1 normal sized ladle per pancake. To gauge for timing to flip the pancake, I usually wait till the bubbles have stopped appearing in the batter before sliding my spatula under the pancake and flipping it over. If it is not brown enough, just flip back and cook again later.
  7. Serve warm with butter, maple syrup and any type of jam.

I got 12 pieces of 15 cm diameter pancakes.

The batter is slightly thick, which is the type I like, since it will rise to make thick fluffy pancakes. The texture and taste is amazing. The only description we (me and my tasters) can come up with is, it is different. A “good” different!

sourdough pancakes1

There seems to be a better smell and flavor than normal pancakes, with no sour taste at all. I expected some sour, since my unfed starter was sitting in the fridge for 7 days already. It was starting to separate slightly.

I am a sourdough convert. Am going to try more recipes!

 

2 thoughts on “sourdough pancakes

Leave a comment