egg white brownies

 

egg white brownies1An extremely useful and easy way to use up egg whites. My last venture into kek lapis legit left me with 5 egg whites from small eggs sitting in the fridge. Too lazy to attempt macarons, I remembered spotting this recipe about egg white brownies.

This recipe can be a happy 2 bowls recipe. Saves up all the washing and gives you more time to enjoy the day with your brownies and a cup of tea/coffee or whatever works for you.

Egg white brownies (adapted from LunaCafe)

  • 170 grams unsalted butter, cut into cubes
  • 170 grams 70% cocoa dark chocolate
  • 125 grams all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 30 grams cocoa powder
  • 50 grams castor sugar
  • 110 grams soft brown sugar
  • 4 egg whites (I used 5 egg whites from small eggs)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp Bailey’s Irish Cream
  1. Line an 8 inch square pan with parchment paper. Grease with butter.
  2. Preheat oven to 190 degrees C.
  3. Place butter and chocolate in a heatproof bowl. Melt butter and chocolate over a pan of hot water. Set aside to cool.
  4. In a bowl, place both sugars and egg whites. Whisk until incorporated.
  5. Add in melted chocolate and butter mixture. Whisk until incorporated.
  6. Add in vanilla and Bailey’s. Whisk until incorporated.
  7. Sift in flour, salt and cocoa powder.
  8. Whisk for a minute until smooth and thick.
  9. Scrape batter into prepared pan and smooth the top.
  10. Turn down the oven temperature to 175 degrees C and bake for 30-40 minutes. Mine were quite well done by the 25th minute, so keep a sharp eye on the brownie, since everyone knows an over-baked brownie tastes horridly dry.
  11. Brownies are done when a skewer in the center comes out with a few crumbs.
  12. Cool on rack completely before slicing. You can chill the brownie in the fridge before cutting to get a cleaner cut.

 

egg white brownies2I reduced the sugar by quite a lot. When I tasted the batter before baking, it seemed not sweet enough. Kind of worried me that I’d cut down too much. However, when completely cool and very liberally dusted with icing sugar, the sweetness is just nice for me. From the picture above, you can see my brownies are not as fudgy as those from the LunaCafe. At 25 minutes, it was already like this, with my oven temperature at around 170 degrees C.

Still, the brownies taste good! It’s been so long since I ate brownies, I forgot how magical they are. One bite and somehow the world seems right again. Haha. Soft, chocolaty goodness that melts in your mouth. This is the best description for these egg white brownies.

I skipped the instant coffee granules since I had none. Yep, we do not drink coffee in this house. Weird eh? When my grandmother was still with us, I used to drink a cup a day. Now that she is gone, no one drinks coffee in this house. I really miss her.

Leave a comment